Barcelona time travel…

While struggling to accept the fact that I had watched my the final episode of Downton Abbey, I decided to head to Plaza Catalunya. [The character Mary is a poster girl for anyone with extremely pale skin, and I had decided that 1920s clothes might be the way forward. Why I thought I might find them in Zara, I don’t know]

I decided that I wouldn’t take the easy route along Gran Via, and that I would use my reknowned sense of direction to weave my way through the side streets, thereby approaching Placa Catalunya from a sidestreet of the Raval.

Obviously, I failed hopelessly.

But the journey was not a loss. Before retracing my steps and finding my way back to Gran Via, I happened upon a couple of interesting shops, far removed from the huge chain stores that occupy the Rambla. Have a look for yourselves…

Founded in 1933, this shop sells miniature nativity characters, for the Catalan tradition of making your own Bethlehem scene at Christmas time. The scatalogical sense of humour of the catalan people means they also include a Caganer, which in recent times is more often than not a famous footballer or celebrity.

I’m not sure that Messi was present and having a poo at the birth of Jesus, but that’s what Barcelona would have you believe. No, I’m not even kidding.

Aaaanyway, in this delightful little store all the miniatures are handmade, and you can even see the little old man in the back making more. Imagine him like the woodcarver in Pinnochio. So cute!

Anyway, I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s far too early to be talking about Christmas, so I’ll move on. Just cast one more glance to your at the photo above, where you will see a close up of the window with all the tiny christmassy models. Aww!

The next shop I found was even better, the kind of place I could spend hours browsing and trying to smell things when no-one is looking. It might seem a bit sleazy with its flourescent lighting, but it’s actually a second hand/rare book shop.

As well as all of the old books (I just love the smell of dusty, other-timeness), there are old comics, records and sheet music. There were posters and general nic-nacs, but my favourite thing was the collection of postcards. Not only were the images beautiful, but in many cases there was writing on the back from the original sender. I tried not to spend too long reading the letters on the back, but it was fascinating, a window into another world.

Things like that are what make language learning worthwhile, for me. And despite the lack of Downton style dresses, it turned out I did get my taste of the 1920s afterall.

Leave a comment